Google+ Followers

Friday, April 12, 2013

Bruce Dawe National Poetry Prize - Open Now!

The Bruce Dawe National Poetry Prize has been endowed by Bruce Dawe, one of Australia's most acclaimed contemporary poets, as an annual $2000 award to encourage poets throughout Australia.

The endowment is held in trust by the University of Southern Queensland, Toowoomba, and administered by the Faculty of Arts. The prize is judged by the English Literature staff of the Faculty, chaired by Professor Chris Lee.

Bruce Dawe said the decision to endow the prize stemmed from a belief that all universities should encourage the practice of the arts within Australian society. It is hoped that this prize will encourage established and emerging Australian poets and to recognise the important contribution they make to our culture.

The competition opens on 1 March and closes on 30 June each year. The winner is contacted personally and announced on this website in early October.


Entrants are encouraged to read the Conditions of Entry (PDF* 76KB) prior to completing the Entry Form (PDF* 97KB).

2012 winner

This year's prize winner is John Watson for his poem Leaving No Wake.

Previous winning poems

Previous entries which have won the Bruce Dawe National Poetry Prize are:

Further information

The Bruce Dawe National Poetry Prize
Faculty of Arts
University of Southern Queensland
Toowoomba QLD 4350
Phone: +61 7 4631 1065
Fax: +61 7 4631 1063

No comments: