Google+ Followers

Thursday, December 17, 2015

Announcing the Winner of the Whitmore Press MS Prize 2015

Dear poet,
Thanks very much for entering this year’s Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize.
For those of you not  already familiar with this news following postings on our website and social media ...
The shortlisted poets in this year’s Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize were:
Broede Carmody
Steve Evans
Adam Ford
Rachael Wenona Guy
Carmen Leigh Keates
Carolyn Leach-Paholski
Ray Liversidge
Roberta Lowing
Juliana Qian (Lia Incognita)
Jane Williams
Following much anguish (and a delay for which we thank everyone for their patience), we are very pleased to announce that the winner of the Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize for 2015 is Carmen Leigh Keates.
We were impressed with the imaginative explorations of Carmen’s poems set in northern Europe – poems in which ancient ruins and contemporary museum alike are part of a disturbing yet subtly lyrical personal archaeology of place and space. Congratulations Carmen!
A collection of Carmen’s poems will be published by Whitmore Press in the second half of 2016.
We again thank all who submitted to this year’s prize, and in particular congratulate those who reached the shortlist and made our final decision an engrossingly difficult one.
Release of Breaking the Days by Jill Jones
As many of you would know, renowned poet, critic and novelist Alison Croggon launched Breaking the Days by Jill Jones in Melbourne in November.
Jill was the co-winner, with Tracy Ryan, of the 2014 Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize, and the publication of Breaking the Days was the result of that win. Our thanks to all who came to the launch and made it a happy celebration. We will post Alison’s launch speech on the Whitmore Press website early in the new year.
For those who couldn’t make the launch but would like a copy of Jill’s – or of Tracy’s – collection,  you can order online from the Whitmore Press titles page

No comments: