Friday, August 25, 2017

The PETER PORTER Poetry Prize 2018 Open Now

     The Peter Porter Poetry Prize is one of Australia's most prestigious prizes for a new poem. The Prize – now open to all poets writing in English – is named after the great Australian poet Peter Porter (1929–2010). The Prize was first awarded in 2005 (Stephen Edgar) and was renamed in 2011, following Peter Porter's death. Past winners include Tracy Ryan, Judith Beveridge, and Anthony Lawrence. To date, Judith Bishop is the only poet to win the Prize twice.
Each year all the shortlisted poems are published in the magazine, giving them equal prominence. The overall winner (who receives $5,000 and an Arthur Boyd print) is then named at a subsequent ceremony along with a runner-up who receives $2,000. The other three shortlisted poets receive $500.

Entries are now open for the 2018 Porter Prize (now worth $8,500).

Click here for more information about the 2018 Porter Prize.

Please read our Frequently Asked Questions page before contacting us with queries about the Porter Prize.
Click here for more information about past winners and to read their poems.
Click here for more information about the 2018 judges.

The unicorn and the angel was produced by Arthur Boyd to illustrate the book of poems by Peter Porter, entitled the Lady and the Unicorn (Secker & Warburg, London, 1975). The print is generously donated by Ivan Durrant in honour of Georges Mora.

Peter Porter portrait 1

We gratefully acknowledge the long-standing support of Ms Morag Fraser AM, and the support of ABR Patrons. The print is donated by Mr Ivan Durrant in honour of Georges Mora.

No comments: