Google+ Followers

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

M E D I A R E L E A S E Announcing Australian Poetry

PO Box 21082 | Little Lonsdale Street 8011 | VICTORIA | +61 3 9094 7826 | | | ACN 146 117 679

Australian Poetry is the merger of the Poets Union (based in NSW) and the Australian Poetry Centre (based in VIC). Commencing formally in 2011, it is has been recently granted Key Emerging Organisation status by the Australia Council. Australian Poetry was created for the purpose of better serving the needs of the Australian poetry community while developing an increased interest in, and providing all poets and the wider community with greater access to, Australian poetry and poets. You can read more about the organisation here.

Paul Kooperman (National Director), Victoria Amy (National Publications Manager), Katie Walsh (National Program Manager), Emilie Zoey Baker (National Education Officer), Andy Jackson (National Library Manager), Robert Lukins (Administration Officer), Leah Greengarten (NSW State Director), Katrina Bercov (WA State Director)


Thanks to the generosity of the Pratt Foundation, Sandra Thibodeaux, previous Director of the NT Writers Centre, has been awarded the Australian Poetry Poet in Residence to work as a poet for the bulk of 2011 on her own poetry as well as being an ambassador for poetry around the country. Sandra will be based in Darwin with the NT Writers Centre.
Thanks to an Australia Council ArtsStart Grant, Eliza Hull, has been awarded the role of Writer in Residence with Australian Poetry working on her writing, song writing, blogging and other interests to develop a career as a writer. Eliza will be based in Melbourne at the Wheeler Centre.
For more information about Australian Poetry call (03) 9094 7827 or email for more information

No comments: