Google+ Followers

Thursday, March 24, 2011

2011 Reason-Brisbane Poetry Prize


The Reason-Brisbane Poetry Prize was established in 2004 as part of the Words in Winter Celebrations that are held, each August, in towns across Hepburn Shire in Central Victoria. In 2010, the competition, initially for Victorian residents only, was opened to all Australian residents.

The Prize has been generously sponsored by Joy Brisbane, a published poet and author who understands the difficulties poets face when trying to find outlets for their work. Joy’s aim is to encourage and nurture the talent of both new and established poets.

With a total prize pool of $2300 the Reason-Brisbane Poetry Prize continues to be one of the most lucrative poetry competitions in Australia. In 2011 the first prize will again be $1500, second prize is $500 and third prize is $300.

The judge for 2011 is Melbourne poet Petra White, whose first book of poetry, The Incoming Tide, was shortlisted in the Queensland Premier's Literary Awards. She was a 2008 Fellow of Hawthornden Castle International Retreat for Writers, and her second collection, The Simplified World, was published by John Leonard Press in 2010.

Previous Winners
2010: 1st place Kevin Gillam; 2nd place Barry O’Donohue; 3rd place Andrew Slattery.
2009: 1st place Charles D’Anastasi; 2nd place Jillian Pattinson; 3rd place Paul Mitchell
2008: 1st place Pauline Rough; 2nd place LK Holt; 3rd place Charles D’Anastasi
2007: 1st place Anne Gleeson; 2nd place Mary-Jane Wyllie; 3rd place Barbara Orlowska-Westwood
2006: 1st place Lynn Sunderland; 2nd place Helen Cerne; 3rd place Mary Manning
2005: 1st place Pat Patt; 2nd place Cate Kennedy; 3rd place Frances Brook
2004: 1st place Ross Gillett; 2nd place Toby Sime; 3rd place Charles D’Anastasi

Contact us
The Organiser of the Reason-Brisbane Poetry Prize is writer and cartoonist, Sheila Hollingworth:

No comments: