Google+ Followers

Saturday, September 03, 2011

2012 USA Poet Stamps

In 2012, the United States Post office will honor ten poets with their likenesses on postage stamps: Elizabeth Bishop, Joseph Brodsky, Gwendolyn Brooks, E. E. Cummings, Robert Hayden, Denise Levertov, Sylvia Plath, Theodore Roethke, Wallace Stevens, and William Carlos Williams. These stamps will be issues as Forever ® Stamps (always equal in value to the current First-Class one-ounce rate).

My Aussie list, in no particular order, would go something like Robert Adamson, Bruce Beaver, Gwen Harwood, John Tranter, Geoff Page, Anthony Lawrence, Dorothy Porter, Bruce Dawe, William Hart-Smith, Frances Webb, Andrew Taylor, Les Murray, Tom Shapcott ... oh, bugger, I've got thirteen without even trying!

What's your list? If you can't send it through 'comments' here, send it to burkeandre(at) (Please, leave the songwriters out - I know we have some great ones, but that's a different bag o'tricks.)

Thanks to Adele Kenny at for the USA list.

No comments: