Google+ Followers

Tuesday, May 01, 2012

The Trust Company as Trustee and Curtin University are pleased to invite you to the 2012 Miles Franklin Literary Award Oration by KIM SCOTT

Professor Kim Scott.DatDate: Tuesday 1 May 2012
Time: 6:30 pm TONIGHT May 1st
 Tim Winton Lecture Theatre (building 213) Curtin University Bentley campus (see map)
RSVP: +61 8 9266 2563 or email by Monday 30 April 2012. Registrations essential.
The Oration will be presented by acclaimed author and 2011 Miles Franklin Literary Award winner Professor Kim Scott.
Professor Scott will be discussing what we might today make of Miles Franklin’s belief that “without an Indigenous literature, people can remain aliens in their own soil”.
Professor Scott became the first Indigenous writer to win the Miles Franklin Literary Award with his first novelBenang: From the Heart in 2000.
His most recent novel, the 2011 Miles Franklin Award-winner That Deadman Dance, was presented to US President Barrack Obama as part of a gift package from the Australian Government during his recent Australian visit.. This event is supported by 720 ABC Perth and Mornings Presenter Geoff Hutchison will emcee the event.

No comments: