Google+ Followers

Thursday, February 28, 2013

Nature Writing Prize Shortlist Announced!


The Nature Conservancy Australia is delighted
to announce the shortlist for the second
biennial Australia Nature Writing Prize.
The inaugural Australia Nature Writing Prize was awarded in 2011
to Annamaria Weldon for her piece 'Threshold Country'.
The winner of this $5,000 biennial prize will be announced on
Wednesday 13th March in Melbourne.
Short listed for this year's award are:
  • Liam Davison
  • Lindsay Simpson
  • Margaret Barbalet
  • Stephen Wright
  • Tamsin Kerr
The competition's judges Geordie Williamson—literary critic
with The Australian—and Dr Janine Burke, distinguished biographer,
art historian and author of The Nest, found the standard of entries
so extraordinarily high that determining the short list was
a significant challenge.
Congratulations to our shortlisted applicants and to everyone who
submitted an essay. Stay tuned for the winner next month!
Click here to learn more about the prize and our work in Australia.

No comments: