Google+ Followers

Thursday, February 07, 2013

writingWA News - NEW Award - Hungerford WINNER(S)

WA's Newest Literary Awards
writingWA is excited to announce the launch of the writingWA Awards, which have been established to support emerging writers in regional areas of the State.
At a function held this evening and attended by Culture and the Arts Minister John Day and Shadow Minister John Hyde, writingWA’s Chair, Delys Bird, said that writingWA had a state-wide responsibility to deliver services in support of Western Australia’s unique literary voices. “In establishing the writingWA Awards we are addressing the needs of aspiring writers in our regional communities, and investing in the emergence of new writing talents,” she said.
The Awards are being offered in partnership with Curtin University and the State Library of Western Australia, and will consist of two individual prizes given annually: The Curtin University Prize for Fiction, and the State Library of Western Australia Prize for WA History.

Each prize will deliver $6000 of professional development support in the form of mentoring and editorial guidance. Mentors - established writers and editors experienced in these genres - will work with each Award winner in the redrafting process and development of their manuscript for submission to publishers.
The 2013 writingWA Awards are now open for submissions. The Conditions of Entry and Entry Form are available on the writingWA website here.
2012 TAG Hungerford Award Winner Announced
writingWA is pleased to congratulate Subiaco resident Robert Edeson who joined an elite group of literary talents tonight when he was announced as the 11th winner of the T.A.G. Hungerford Award for his unpublished manuscript, Weaverfish.
He receives a $12,000 cash prize donated by the Friends and Family of the late Bill Warnock, and a publishing contract with Fremantle Press.
writingWA received a total of 48 entries to the 2012 Hungerford Award and these were considered by a panel of four judges that included writingWA Chair, Associate Professor Delys Bird, leading West Australian writers Susan Midalia and Richard Rossiter, and Adult Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction Publisher at Fremantle Press, Georgia Richter.
The judging panel commended each of the entrants to the 2012 T.A.G. Hungerford Award and acknowledged the high standard of submissions as a sign of the literary and cultural wellbeing of our state.
The field was of such an exceptionally high standard that the judges increased the size of the shortlist this year from three to a total of six. In addition to the winning entry, the shortlist also recognised: Murray Jennings for The Moondella Drive-In; Zoe Deleuil for The Back Shed; Susan Sullivan for Reasons for Song; Martin Chambers for How I became the Mr Big of People Smuggling; and Vivien Stuart for Acacia House.
For more information go to the writingWA website here.


Anonymous said...

A great site you have here, Andrew. Thanks for mentioning the Hungerford Awards (Susan Sullivan).

Andrew Burke said...

T'was a pleasure, Susan. You also have a 'great site'. If I could get my blogroll going, I'd list you!

Andrew Burke said...

And congratulations! It takes a lot of effort to finely tune a manuscript enough to enter such a prestigious award - and yours was short listed! Goodonya.