Google+ Followers

Thursday, September 12, 2013


TOM COLLINS POETRY PRIZE is an annual competition inaugurated by the Fellowship of Australian Writers Western Australia (FAWWA) in 1975 in memory of Australian author Joseph Furphy (1843 – 1912) who wrote as Tom Collins.

First Prize is $1000, Second Prize is $400 and four Highly Commended poems receive $150 each. 

Poems should be no more than 60 lines. 
Closing date is 15 December. 

For any queries visit - email or phone 08 9384 4771 

Or you may send a self-addressed stamped envelope to FAWWA, PO Box 6180, Swanbourne WA 6910

Tom Collins House in Swanbourne, Western Australia, once the residence of Joseph Furphy is now the headquarters of the Fellowship of Australian Writers WA branch, Western Australia's state-wide network for writers since 1938.

OPEN YOUR MIND Poetry Competition:
Because of the success of the poetry competition last year with having the “Open Your Mind” poetry book published the Lorikeet Centre will be holding it again for 2013.
 The poems must be the original work by someone with a lived experience of mental illness or the carer of someone with a mental illness, living in Western Australia and written in the last twelve months and not published before.
The poem needs to be between 4 to 12 lines.
You may write two poems but they must be from different themes.
Themes for the poems:
Celebrate the positive events in your life, as well as the strengths and values that have helped you through more challenging times.
Connecting with others by paying close attention to your close relationships, or by reaching out and making new friends.
Growing: Expanding your horizons and trying something new that creates meaning and purpose for you.  
Other options:
My well being – be aware, look after your mental health and wellbeing.
Activity: An activity that has assisted you in your mental health recovery.
 Please state what theme your poem is.
Awards to the winners will be presented at the Lorikeet Centre on Tuesday 8th October from 10.30am.Winners can read out their poems when presented with their award, followed by other poets. Platters of food and soft drink will be served after awards.
Entries close 27 September 2013.


Ernie Hansen at PO Box 1006 West Leederville 6007

No comments: