Google+ Followers

Sunday, May 03, 2009

Griffen Poetry Prize 2009

TORONTO – April 7, 2009Scott Griffin, founder of The Griffin Trust for Excellence in Poetry and David Young, trustee, today announced the Canadian and International shortlist for this year’s prize. The C$100,000 Griffin Poetry Prize is one of the most lucrative poetry prizes in the world, exemplifying the international spirit of the form. The prize is awarded annually for the two best books of poetry, including translations, published in English in the previous year.

Judges Saskia Hamilton, Dennis O'Driscoll and Michael Redhill each read 485 books of poetry, including 33 translations, received from 32 countries around the globe. The seven finalists – three Canadian and four International – will be invited to read in Toronto at the MacMillan Theatre on Tuesday, June 2, 2009. The winners, who each receive C$50,000, will be announced on Wednesday, June 3, 2009, at the ninth annual Griffin Poetry Prize Awards Evening.

Canadian Shortlist

RevolverKevin Connolly
House of Anansi Press

Crabwise to the Hounds
Jeramy Dodds
Coach House Books

The SentinelA. F. Moritz
House of Anansi Press

International Shortlist

The Lost LeaderMick Imlah
Faber and Faber

Life on EarthDerek Mahon (photo above)
The Gallery Press

Rising, Falling, HoveringC. D. Wright
Copper Canyon Press

Primitive Mentor
Dean Young
University of Pittsburgh Press

The judges for the 2009 Griffin Poetry Prize are the distinguished writers and poets Saskia Hamilton (United States), Dennis O'Driscoll (Ireland) and Michael Redhill (Canada). Each year, the Griffin Poetry Prize publishes an anthology, a selection of poems from the shortlisted books, published by House of Anansi Press. Royalties from The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology are donated to UNESCO's World Poetry Day.

No comments: