Monday, June 27, 2011

Announcing the Peter Porter Poetry Prize

Entry to the eighth annual Australian Book Review poetry prize – renamed the Peter Porter Poetry Prize, in memory of the late Australian poet – is now open.

First prize: $4000
Shortlisted poems: $250
Closing date: 21 November 2011

Judges: Judith Beveridge and David McCooey

The Peter Porter Poetry Prize is one of Australia’s most lucrative and respected awards for poetry, and guarantees winners wide exposure through publication in ABR.




Stephen Edgar (2005)
Judith Bishop (2006)
Alex Skovron (2007)
Ross Clark (2008)
Tracy Ryan (2009)
Anthony Lawrence (2010)
Judith Bishop (2011) and Tony Lintermans (2011)

Poets must reside in Australia or be Australian citizens living overseas. Each entry must be a single poem of no more than 100 lines. Multiple entries are permitted, and all poems will be judged anonymously. A shortlist comprising a maximum of six poems will be announced and those poems published in the March 2012 issue of ABR. The winner will be announced in the April 2012 issue.

No comments: